justcallmejunecleaver

Cleaning…

In Uncategorized on August 3, 2010 at 9:28 PM

I’ve decided cleaning is the hardest thing a 1950’s housewife, or any housewife for that matter, has to do.  How did Joan keep everything so sparkling on Leave it to Beaver? She didn’t I know, it’s a TV set, but play along with me. 

I really have to be in the mood for cleaning, but I feel I do a pretty good job.  Sometimes it’s the objects in the room that keeps me from cleaning it.  For example, dear husband and I use to have a ‘hodge-podge’ master bedroom – college furniture, ugly sheets, white walls.  We upgraded with a new bedroom suite, nice bed sheets/bedspread, chocolate-colored walls, curtains, and a new flat screen.  I love to clean this room now, and it’s a retreat for us.  I think I just knew that all the cleaning in the world would not make me love the old ‘hodge-podge’ room.

My first tip is to clean something 1950’s style.  When was the last time you scrubbed a floor – yellow gloves, hands & knees style?  What about washing baseboards, cleaning windows, and other crazy things like that?  We’ve got it so easy with our vast chemical products and Swiffer WetJets.  ‘Spring cleaning’ didn’t just happen in spring for 1950’s housewives!  Try buying a 1950’s tool for cleaning like the dust mop.  I love mine for our hardwood floors. 

My second tip for cleaning is make your own supplies.  I’ve been wanting to make my own laundry soap for a while now.  I’ve googled a couple of recipes, and watched the Duggars (my reality show guilty pleasure, 19 Kids & Counting) make it.  Here’s the recipe I’m using, it’s for a powder soap:

1 bar of shaved bar soap (I used Ivory)

1/2 cup of Borax (I had to go to three stores to find this – Meijer & WalMart were out, Target had it)

1/2 cup of Washing Soda (I used Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda)

Thoroughly stir together for 5 minutes and enjoy the results.  Use 2 TBSP per load.

Enjoy living a little bit more like June, and a little cleaner too!

  1. I LOVE these!! Please keep them up. They are alot of fun to read, and very true. 🙂

  2. Thanks! Try the soap. It works just as well as store bought brands.

Leave a Reply

